Home News 2016 UIL Realignment – San Antonio

2016 UIL Realignment – San Antonio


Every 2 years, the University Interscholastic League (UIL) does a realignment for all of the public high schools in the state of Texas.  On Monday, they announced the 2016 changes and unfortunately, for a few schools in San Antonio, there will be a lot of travel involved for District games.  Other than that, everything pretty much stayed the same — unlike in 2014, when the UIL established 6A as a new classification.

I can’t even begin to imagine how this day feels for Coaches, Athletic Directors, and especially the players.  I know that as soon as the changes are announced (and, it is a national event because high school football is such a big deal in Texas), it is a chaotic mess as the media critiques everything and Athletic Directors scramble to schedule opponents.    Yes, I have already seen a few schedules in my Twitter feed and I can’t wait for Week 1.

Let’s take a look at the Districts that have San Antonio teams:


District 26: Churchill, Johnson, Lee, MacArthur, Madison, Reagan, and Roosevelt
This District should be renamed to the Northeast Independent School District because all the schools are from the that school district and have been a long time.  I guess it would be hard for the UIL to take one of the teams out and throw them somewhere else.

District 27: Steele, Clemens, New Braunfels Canyon, Smithson Valley, New Braunfels, Wagner, Judson, and East Central
I am glad they kept Steele, Clemens, Judson, and Wagner together because when they play each other, those games are absolutely magnificent events.  Clemens has the best quarterback in the city in Frank Harris who is a junior. Last year, Steele and Judson were the final teams in San Antonio playing in the playoffs — both lost in the state semi-finals.  This District could easily become the top District in the state of Texas.  Welcome to the club, East Central and good luck against the big boys!!

District 28: Brandeis, Brennan, Clark, Holmes, Jay, Marshall, O’Connor, Stevens, Taft, and Warren
This District, which is all of the Northside Independent Schools, is divided into Zone A and Zone B and the teams that represent each Zone haven’t been announced yet.  I wonder what will happen when the 11th high school in Northside opens up and reaches a 6A classification?

District 29: Del Rio, Eagle Pass, Laredo Alexander, Laredo Johnson, Laredo United South, S.A. Southwest, and South San


District 26: Boerne Champion, Medina Valley, Dripping Springs, Kerrville Tivy, Lockhart, Marble Falls, Alamo Heights, and Seguin

District 28: Brackenridge, Burbank, Edison, Highlands, Sam Houston, Jefferson, Lanier, Kennedy, and Memorial

District 29: Alice, Corpus Christi Calallen, Eagle Pass Winn, Floresville, Harlandale, McCollum, Southside, and Uvalde

For the complete UIL realignment for the state of Texas, please visit: http://www.uiltexas.org/alignments/category/align-football

Previous articleKaty running back Kyle Porter commits to University of Texas
Next articleRealignment Effects Minimal in Central Texas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 + four =