Home News Realignment Effects Minimal in Central Texas

Realignment Effects Minimal in Central Texas


Coaches and athletic directors wait with bated breath on UIL Realignment Day to learn where their schools will land.  Most Central Texas school officials sighed with relief when they discovered the effects will be minimal for 2015-16.

Class 6A – District 12-6A remains intact with Waco Midway, Belton, Copperas Cove, and the four Killeen schools:  Killeen, Shoemaker, Harker Heights, and Ellison.  But the district has been numbered to 8-6A, putting these Central Texas giants in Region II along with powerhouses such as Allen, Cedar Hill, DeSoto, and Southlake Carroll.

Class 5A – Temple, Waco, and Waco University join District 18-5A and drop their affiliations with the North Austin suburbs for the South Brazos Valley.  Bryan, Bryan Rudder, College Station, and A&M Consolidated comprise the remainder of the district.

“The two College Station teams and Bryan have had some really good years the last couple of years,” Waco head coach Marty Herbst told the Waco Tribune-Herald.  “We know they’re going to be a challenge each time.  But I know we’ll battle them, and it ought to come down to the fourth quarter against those opponents.”

Class 4A Division I – China Spring, Waco La Vega, Gatesville, Burnet, and Lampasas remain intact in District 13-4A.  Robinson drops to Division II, and Liberty Hill replaces the Rockets.

Class 4A Division II – Robinson joins old rivals Lorena and Waco Connally to form District 9-4A along with Fairfield, Mexia, and Salado.

“We’re excited about a fresh start, and it’s going to be a fun district to be a part of,” Robinson head coach Tommy Allison remarked to the Trib.

Class 3A Division I – Whitney and West move east and combine with Teague, Groesbeck, Elkhart, Eustace, Malakoff, and Palestine Westwood as District 9-3A.  McGregor shifts to 10-3A with Troy, Academy, Cameron Yoe, and Rockdale.   Franklin and Jarrell round out the new alignment.

Class 3A Division II – Clifton earns fringe status in District 11-3A, joining Blooming Grove, Dallas A+ Academy, Dallas Triple A Academy, Corsicana Mildred, Rice, and Rio Vista.

Class 2A Division I – Crawford and Valley Mills head north and west to District 7-2A partnered with Hico, Hamilton, De Leon, Goldthwaite, and San Saba.  Axtell, Bosqueville, Mart, and Itasca remain together and add Riesel and Italy for District 8-2A.

“You’re going to end up with some good football teams, no matter where you are,” Crawford head coach Delbert Kelm commented to the Trib.  “But it’s a good change for us.”

Class 2A Division II – Bremond rejoins Chilton in District 10-2A along with Dawson, Frost, Hubbard, and Meridian.

Previous article2016 UIL Realignment – San Antonio
Next articleTexas State NSD Ticker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

seven + eleven =